Note: In order to see all of your backed up items, expand the levels by clicking on the arrows to the left hand side of each item - note that the items are displayed using the same hierarchy (path names) as on your own Mac for ease of navigation.
The Maintenance window has been designed to allow the user to perform the following tasks:
- set delete dates for items
- delete items immediately
- verify files
- rebuild list of files currently being stored
- compact database
You will note how the Maintenance window automatically expands any single item entries beginning with the root level until it encounters more than one file/folder at a given level. This allows for quicker navigation to the important files/folders.
When you open this window, you will see a pulldown menu which allows you to select an action to perform.
Here is where you are given the option to delete files or folders that you currently have stored with us.
Why would you want to perform this task?
- you may have information stored on our servers that you no longer wish to keep there
- you may want to modify a delete date that BackJack has automatically set for you via your pre-configured 'delete options' settings
Note: You can set a delete date for a folder or for individual files. For this initial version, you can only mark and recover a single item at a time.
ACTION: Select an item by clicking on the line to highlight it - then, enter the specific date (in the format shown) that you want the file to be deleted from our server. BackJack will not let you set a date that is not either the current date or later. Go ahead and click on the START button.
Note: If you have set a delete date for an item and wish to REMOVE the delete date, simply select the item, clear all 3 date fields and click on the Start button. BackJack will remove the delete date.
You will receive a message that the 'set delete date' process has been completed successfully. You will also be able to see that the delete date has been set in the 'delete date' column. The automatic deletion will take place at the end of a normal backup process you execute on or after the date you set. If the item you set is covered by a backup set (now or in the future) and therefore should not be deleted, BackJack will automatically remove the Delete Date during that backup set's execution.
Delete Immediately will permanently delete the selected file or folder from the remote backup servers. This will occur even if those items are part of an existing backup set (they will get backed up again during the next execution of the backup set if you do not remove them from the set itself). Use this to manually remove revisions or to delete items that are no longer covered by a backup set.
ACTION: Select an item by clicking on the line to highlight it and then select 'delete immediately' via the pulldown menu. Go ahead and click on the START button.
Performs a full verification of all files you currently have backed up. The process verifies the integrity of your local Catalog database and ensures all files exist properly on the remote storage servers by comparing a checksum. This does not guarantee you will be able to successfully recover the files if you do not have the correct encryption passphrase.
ACTION: Click on the START button which will begin the verification process. You can stop the process at any time by clicking on the Stop button.
Rebuild your local list of file. This process clears your local Catalog database of any files backed up and rebuilds them from the remote storage servers. Use this if your local database has become corrupted, if you are re-installing BackJack on a new computer or if you have changed your Computer ID and would like to see the list of files backed up under a different ComputerID.
ACTION: Click on the START button which will begin the rebuild list process. You can stop the process at any time by clicking on the Stop button.
Compacting the database removes free space in your local copy of the file catalog and re-indexes. You can perform this whenever you like but it is probably most beneficial after deleting large quantities of files from your backup. This will also repair any damage to the database caused by power outages or system crashes. Compacting is safe in that you will always be prompted to make a copy of the database prior to the compacting process proceeding.
ACTION: Click on the START button which will begin the compact database process. You can stop the process at any time by clicking on the Stop button.